PDA

View Full Version : Best video/DVD player?

FRuMMaGe
June 16th, 2007, 06:09 PM
I have been using Ubuntu with XP dual-boot for about 3 months now, and my experience has been great! I have gradually weened (If that's how you spell it) myself off windows completely, and have a pure Ubuntu laptop, with great specs.

I like watching DVD's and/or downloaded shows such as Family Guy, and have used Totem up until now. However, it just seems a bit... unfinished. I would much preffer an all-in-one good-looking video player (much like Amarok).

Here are the specs of my laptop if it makes a difference:
Intel Core Duo (Dual-Core)
Intel 945G integrated Graphics
160 GB Hard-Drive
2 GB of RAM
Built-in 10/100 and 54G Wireless LAN
etc.

Any suggestions will be welcome as I have lots of free space availiable so I can try out any programs recommended.

lixy
June 16th, 2007, 06:45 PM
This is a very subjective subject. I don't see anything wrong with Totem (except maybe the RAM usage and lack of configurability). Maybe you should specify what you mean by "unfinished". Do you want more features like in Amarok that enables you to manage your video? Do you wanna sync with some external players? Please by specific. And remember, there's no panacea software that does well at everything (though Amarok is truly amazing!). The world is made of conpromises.

ShareBuntu
June 16th, 2007, 06:49 PM
Can't go wrong with VLC.

spockrock
June 16th, 2007, 06:52 PM
Bytes;2856199']Can't go wrong with VLC.

QFT, though 5.1 is broken on the linux version or at least the one in the ubuntu repos.

Polygon
June 16th, 2007, 06:59 PM
i love totem for playing DVD's. It has a really nice full screen interface, something that VLC lacks.

the only problem with totem is that when you are trying to move the slider to go to different parts in the DVD or movie, the sliders position in respect to the movie is kinda an illusion.... takes a bit getting used to

FRuMMaGe
June 16th, 2007, 07:01 PM