PDA

View Full Version : Why should anyone switch to linux?!

colddayinapril
June 16th, 2007, 08:57 AM
The answer? simple, you guys!

Aside from all the major talking points flung around in the open-source v. Microsoft debate, theres one major benefit that i think any new user to any new OS needs, and it's found right here. Support. Good support. Patient, forgiving, knowledgeable community support.

I'm a noob... nubliest of the nubs when it comes to linux, but even sitting here, not knowing my a$$ from a kernel in the ground, I'd still pick linux. Why, cause every problem I've had (and i've quite a few in the last 36 hours) and have brought here has been met with quick, helpful, and friendly support. When you have a problem with XP, and the help files are'nt doing it for you, what dose Microsoft tell you to do? "Suck it!", thats what.

yes, linux is a pain. Yes it's hard to learn. however, unlike windows, the tools, resources, and (most importantly) the community are all there, ready, and waiting to be helpful. This place is like a giant intuitive help file with an itchy trigger finger. When i find i have a new problem, I half expect it to already be answered on my behalf before i post anything.

Bottom line: You guys kick a$$!
viva la open source!

PS
in case you can't tell, i'm new to this :D

steven8
June 16th, 2007, 08:59 AM
Welcome to Linux, and welcome to Ubuntu. You have, of course, nailed it right on the head!! Enjoy!

shareMenaPeace
June 16th, 2007, 09:14 AM
100% ACK, but more importent SECURITY

WalmartSniperLX
June 16th, 2007, 10:13 AM
Welcome to Ubuntu/GNU/Linux. You didn't have to say we kick a$$ because we already know that. Just kidding haha.

I choose Linux because of the freedom, which can branch to many great advantages.

patrick295767
June 16th, 2007, 10:44 AM
To make use of old computers as 486 SX/DX ... for internet surfing
Servers , multimedia centers, ...

WalmartSniperLX
June 16th, 2007, 10:45 AM