PDA

View Full Version : Help a Java noob - looking for a decent IDE.

Fireblend
June 15th, 2007, 05:26 AM
Hello. I'm currently studying Computer Science and I'm gonna be programming Java next semester, so I was wondering what was a good IDE to use. I checked Kate, but I can't find a compile button if there's supposed to be one :p Anyone know of any good Java on Kate tutorials or would care to recommend me some alternative light IDE? Thanks in advance.

slavik
June 15th, 2007, 05:29 AM
eclipse

Fireblend
June 15th, 2007, 05:51 AM
Yeah, I did a quick search and it's apparent that Eclipse is among the best options. However, I'm afraid that we're not going to be allowed to use it for the course for whatever reason (were not being allowed to use netbeans so I guess we won't be using Eclipse either). Anything lighter and more Textpad-like?

Yoooder
June 15th, 2007, 06:09 AM
vim and emacs (two of the main console-editors for *nix) support Java integration. See:

http://jdee.sunsite.dk/
http://www.vim.org/scripts/script.php?script_id=1213

As far a graphical text editors (and other command-line editors for that matter)--just search for stuff like
graphical java editor +"syntax highlighting" +linux

You really don't have to have an IDE for Java, and if your prof is disallowing Netbeans you should probably ask specifically where s/he draws the line. Personally I can understand they want you to write your own code and not use snippets, but there's nothing like a decent IDE to assist in finding/fixing small mistakes that can easily be overlooked.

zoobave
June 15th, 2007, 08:14 AM
try NetBeans, i think this will be a better option for you.

samjh
June 15th, 2007, 02:48 PM
Yeah, I did a quick search and it's apparent that Eclipse is among the best options. However, I'm afraid that we're not going to be allowed to use it for the course for whatever reason (were not being allowed to use netbeans so I guess we won't be using Eclipse either). Anything lighter and more Textpad-like?