PDA

View Full Version : Looking for opinion on my code

TreeFinger
June 14th, 2007, 11:18 AM
I have been reading my C++ book. I am just getting into chapter two which covers control structures. After reading some and getting some useful information I headed back to some of the problems from Ch. 1 and did them. I am wondering if you experienced programmers out there could tell me if my code is readable? I know an important thing is for code to be readable to find bugs, etc.

Here is a program I wrote that finds if a number is a multiple of the other.

// 2 integers first & second, finds if second is multiple of first

#include <iostream>

using std::cout;
using std::cin;
using std::endl;

int main()
{
int first;
int second;
int multiple;
int cont = 1; // 1 Means to Continue, 0 means end program

while (cont == 1)
{
cout << "Enter the greater integer: ";
cin >> first;
cout << endl;
cout << "Enter number to find if it is multiple of the first: ";
cin >> second;

multiple = first % second;

if ( multiple == 0 )
{
cout << second << " is a multiple of " << first << endl;
cout << "Enter 1 to find multiple of another number, 0 to exit\n";
cin >> cont;
}
else
{
cout << second << " is NOT a multiple of " << first << endl;
cout << "Enter 1 to find multiple of another number, 0 to exit\n";
cin >> cont;
}
}
return 0;
}

It works perfectly as far as I can tell. This program makes me curious about data types. I would like to be able to use numbers with decimals in the program. Any tips on how to do that? Thanks in advance.

TreeFinger
June 14th, 2007, 11:27 AM
I wanted to fix a bug where if user accidentally presses something other than 1 or 0 for entering another set of numbers the program would go into infinite while loop. So I did :)

// 2 integers first & second, finds if second is multiple of first

#include <iostream>

int main()
{
int first;
int second;
int multiple;

if (cont == 1)
{
cin >> first;
cout << endl;
cin >> second;

if ( multiple == 0 )
{