PDA

View Full Version : I have ordered Shipit disks before

LightB
June 13th, 2007, 12:27 PM
So I have received Ubuntu disks when I submitted for some once, and they came in a padded package. That has to add to cost no? Couldn't things be done more cheaply?

For those of you in the US (or even some of you in other places, I don't know), you know that junk mail from AOL you receive in the form of installation CDs? Those things are unbreakable and they come in nothing but paper and a little shrink wrap. Tell me if I'm way off here but wouldn't something similar to these materials be used for good instead of spam in the way of the Ubuntu CDs that are sent out?

brim4brim
June 13th, 2007, 12:52 PM
I've received them and they came in padded envelope. Its because Ubuntu is classier than AOL.

Shipit is an important part of Ubuntu and the reason I choose it as I was on 56K at the time so my only other alternative was buying an commercial distro in a store and I was a student at the time so that wasn't really an option either.

LightB
June 13th, 2007, 01:02 PM
Oh I'm not saying Ubuntu should become like AOL, I'm saying that if AOL can afford to throw all this trash out there on massive numbers, is it because they're just that rich and stupid, or is it cost effective?

My point is that cutting costs would probably help the project, maybe more CDs would get out there and faster? Or maybe I don't know what I'm talking about and it's already as cheap as it can be given the resources the project has available? I don't know.

Mazza558
June 13th, 2007, 01:04 PM
Oh I'm not saying Ubuntu should become like AOL, I'm saying that if AOL can afford to throw all this trash out there on massive numbers, is it because they're just that rich and stupid, or is it cost effective?