PDA

View Full Version : tcl/Tk

cra65
June 13th, 2007, 09:53 AM
Hi.

I am a very newbie on Linux and programming; I need Tcl/Tk to do particular scripts.
I'm having a trouble with tcl shell (tclsh).

In tclsh I can't use cursor keys:

paolo@paolo-laptop:~$ tclsh
% set x [expr {2+1}]^[[D^[[D

When I digit "<-" (left arrow) appear
^[[D instead;
the right cursor arrow produces
^[[C
the CANC key
^[[3~.

I'm using Ubuntu linux 7.10 on laptop (HP Compaq nx6310).

My locale seems correct:

paolo@paolo-laptop:~$ locale
LANG=it_IT.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_NAME="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="it_IT.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=

and I haven't problems with "normal" shell.

Any suggestions?

Toxe
June 13th, 2007, 12:42 PM
Yes, that means that tclsh is not using the readline library. Try running it like:

$ rlfe tclsh

The rlfe tool (you may have to install it first) "intercepts" your cursor keys and wraps a readline environment around your input prompt. A very handy tool. :-)

You can try rlwrap as well, does the same thing. Dont know which one is better.

cra65
June 14th, 2007, 02:32 PM
Many thanks for your answer!

rlfe works perfectly!

:D

Vox754
June 14th, 2007, 09:57 PM
Yep, that happens normally when you run "tclsh" or "wish" from the terminal.
You can try the "Tk Console".

sudo aptitude install tkcon
tkcon &

It includes variable and command highlighting. It lets you load the packages you want.
Many options. Very handy, even if you are only doing scripting and no graphical interfaces.

In Linux you can use the terminal, but tkcon is a must in Windows.
Also, you can try ActiveTcl, a free distribution from ActiveState with lots of packages. Easy to use, with complete documentation.