PDA

View Full Version : Reading Program Output

Pru
June 11th, 2007, 09:17 PM
Hi, I'm relatively new to programming in Linux, I've made a few small python apps but nothing too complex.

I now want to make a program that would read the output of a program (what would usually show up in a terminal if i were to run it from there) and output it onto my g15 screen.

I know how to output to the g15 screen, but I don't know how to read the program's output and I don't know where to start.

The main program I'm hoping to use this with is Quake 3.

CptPicard
June 12th, 2007, 02:56 AM
Well, doing it the Linux way, you'll just pipe the program's output into your python script and read it in the script from the standard input. Thus:

mybox$ someprogram | python yourscript.py

And in yourscript.py

import sys

for line in sys.stdin:
print line # or whatever you do with it

RawMustard
June 13th, 2007, 06:57 AM
I'm interested in this also, can this be done live? I mean can I run a script in a terminal and then see what another script or program is sending to it in real time? Am I making sense?

Pru
June 17th, 2007, 11:45 AM
Well, doing it the Linux way, you'll just pipe the program's output into your python script and read it in the script from the standard input. Thus:

mybox$ someprogram | python yourscript.py

And in yourscript.py

import sys

for line in sys.stdin:
print line # or whatever you do with it

I've tried this in so many different ways and I can't get it to work, is there any links that would be of use or what I should google for?

CptPicard
June 17th, 2007, 04:58 PM
To the question of whether this is real time... yes this works real time. You may want to make sure you're flushing stdout in your outputting program regularly though, otherwise you'll get the output in chunks of buffer size.