PDA

View Full Version : Push me just a bit more, please

DirtDawg
June 10th, 2007, 09:30 AM
I have an imac g3 (new gen) that has been running Xubuntu Dapper for about a year now. I've recently been trying to get the 3D acceleration to work, with no luck, and finally borked X to the point where I can't even get a terminal up long enough to run, "sudo cp xorg.conf.bak xorg.conf", if you know what I mean.

Since *buntu dropped their PPC support (BOO!), I've been looking at other distros and Debian looks more and more like a good alternative, but I have just a few questions.

1) Is it true Debian is not really any more difficult to install and set up than *buntu? I would consider myself an intermadiate Linux user as I have been using Linux since 2002, but I still rely heavily on tutorials and howto's for many tasks.

2) Should I use Etch or Lenny? I see Etch has plenty of fans, but I wonder about the "staleness" of the packages. That said, they couldn't really be much older than the Dapper packages I was using anyways, is this correct? In addition, is it possible to, for example, install Lenny packages on an Etch install? The equivalent would be impossible on *buntu.

3) I believe, with an internet connection, if I install the "*xcfe-cd-1.iso", this will install the base system plus xcfe, then get everything else from the internet. Am I correct in this assumtion? In other words, will this be the only cd I need?

4) Is there anything else I should know? I'm close to giving Debian the old college try, but I could use just a little push, or perhaps dissuasion. ;)

Thank you

kerry_s
June 10th, 2007, 09:49 AM
I have an imac g3 (new gen) that has been running Xubuntu Dapper for about a year now. I've recently been trying to get the 3D acceleration to work, with no luck, and finally borked X to the point where I can't even get a terminal up long enough to run, "sudo cp xorg.conf.bak xorg.conf", if you know what I mean.