PDA

View Full Version : Is this even legal? OpenOffice.org

juice13610
June 8th, 2007, 03:25 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/OpenOffice-2007-Microsoft-Office-2007-COMPATIBLE_W0QQitemZ230139433630QQihZ013QQcategory Z80265QQcmdZViewItem

Is it legal to sell "digital" formats of open source software?
I'd be interested to know if he is delivering an executable or a link to an executable from OpenOffice.org

tgm4883
June 8th, 2007, 03:35 PM
Yep. Doesn't mean he isn't a dirtbag though

DoctorMO
June 8th, 2007, 03:37 PM
Yep, perfectly legal. your allowed to sell copies of open source software 1) because you really selling physical media and 2) because you only have to provide links to the source code unless you modify it.

Yep. Doesn't mean he isn't a dirtbag though

I'm an open source programmer, why would I mind if someone sold my software on CD?

jrusso2
June 8th, 2007, 03:40 PM
Richard Stallman used to sell CD's with Free Software on them. There is nothing to prevent anyone from doing this.

No one has to buy them either as they are available free.

juice13610
June 8th, 2007, 03:44 PM
Just seems deceitful. I doubt many people know when they see OpenOffice they know that its a completely free alternative.

As to being an open source programmer and not caring if people sell your software, I guess that's your business. Im not a programmer by any stretch, but I would hope that if I was creating software to distribute for free I wouldn't want someone else making money off of burning it to a disc.

rich.bradshaw
June 8th, 2007, 03:49 PM
My cousin bought Audacity from ebay for £15, didn't realise it was free.

It's legal - some people don't have the bandwidth for downloading the CD, but you should probably mention it's free.

saulgoode
June 8th, 2007, 04:01 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/OpenOffice-2007-Microsoft-Office-2007-COMPATIBLE_W0QQitemZ230139433630QQihZ013QQcategory Z80265QQcmdZViewItem