PDA

View Full Version : Never Walk Alone !

Rhyn W
June 8th, 2007, 12:36 PM
I believe that if we stand together with each other and for each other. The force of our combined voices will be heard.

I am new to Linux, when I asked in the past I was told Linux was complicated and not easy to use. The people I was asking were very cleaver programmers and the like.

Now I have finally been able to immigrate to Linux thanks to Ubuntu. I'll be getting Feisty Tomorrow.

The thing I have found is that large corporations don't support Linux enough. SonyEricsson for Example don't produce drivers for my phone, while I appreciate the Geniuses who can code in Linux and make everything I have work on My Pc I don't want it to be their problem. I can see that we (Linux users) by demand will outstrip their resources to develop software to help me and my Pc and all my products get along.

However I feel that if we unite and apply pressure onto the bigger organisations to support our user base (product for product) they will eventually factor us in to all future developments.

Basically I want to be a Linux Thorn in their side until they add us to the list.

What is the Linux User Bases' Critical Mass? Does anyone know is that figure being given out to companies so that they could see the benefits of developing Linux software for their products?

If 10% of that base share a common need will the other 90% get behind them and volley for support.
I believe we should and could.

I am willing to commit to apply pressure on behalf of others who share in my dilemma of not getting enough support from Manufacturers.

Stand together lets get a Forum for Intervention, going and let’s get taken seriously.