PDA

View Full Version : Web Development for Linux

simonfiction
June 8th, 2007, 09:44 AM
Hi,

I'm a web developer who has recently made the move to Ubuntu. I'm completely in love with the OS and am more than pleased with it. I'm trying to persuade the company I work for that it is important we develop our websites to work well not only with windows and mac, but also with linux (probably using a standard ubuntu installation as the standard for testing). I'm currently looking for some advice with multimedia on the web, specifically embedded in a page. What format would you recommend in terms of embedding video or audio that is easily accessible to the user? I'm not happy enough with the buggy nature of real player for linux to stream in the real format, plus this doesn't quite match my minimum requirement of a standard installation of ubuntu. I'm preferably looking for something that is going to work well for ubuntu, windows and mac. Flash seems the obvious choice for video, but still, I'm looking for any other suggestions.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Si

Mickeysofine1972
June 8th, 2007, 09:51 AM
Hi

I am currently working in this role too and have managed to do excatly what your trying to accomplish.

The main thing to strees to your company is that linux doesn't have the cost but has similar if not superior software than they are already using.

The format I am using and have a lot of success with is flash video, I have been taking company videos and converting them using ffmpeg which is run by a little gui I wrote in qt4 if you would llike a copy I can email it to you in deb format

Mike

cunawarit
June 8th, 2007, 10:26 AM
I'm trying to persuade the company I work for that it is important we develop our websites to work well not only with windows and mac, but also with linux (probably using a standard ubuntu installation as the standard for testing).