enough knowledge about c++ etc.

I want to get seriously involved in linux development. I am presently
working on a simulation project in Group Technology and C++ and will be free
in 5 days for next 3 months to come and after that also I will have ample
amount of time.

I am a newbie in linux.. (very novice!!) but I have become very much
interested in it recently.

Though I tried to understand how things work in Linux, but things seem to be
spread in a confusing way on the Internet.

I was wondering if any one of you out there (most of you are experts.. I
know) may be able to help me. I need a guide or a mentor to help me
through...Please help. I want to be a serious developer in the open source
community.... seriously!! :) .... and i am looking forward to a long term
relationship with the person as guide/mentor.. I don't know what i will be
able to offer in return.. but be assured.. i am a very hard working person..
so atleast you will have a worthy acolyte. :)

Waiting for replies.

Bests,
Vivek Srivastava

pmasiar
June 7th, 2007, 03:51 PM
I am not sure how many people are looking for acolytes :-) , but many projects looks for developers.

Find a project you are interested in, and join it. Many projects have simple bugs left over for new developers - to train them for bigger tasks.

But to become useful to any project you first need to "learn the ropes" - create some programs on your own. Go to wiki in my sig for suggestions what to program.

rksk16it
June 7th, 2007, 04:48 PM
Hi vivek ! i'm from india too :)

If u really need to work on linux kernels, i would suggest you to first read linux HOWTOS. You can get them using Synaptic Package Manager under the Documentation subsection. It is a great collection of great HOWTOS, which i think will help in the long run...though there are many parts that have nothing to do with programming (because it requires a mighty to program there !), but the concepts help a lot.