PDA

View Full Version : Is having a router the same as having a firewall?

aysiu
June 5th, 2007, 07:41 PM
I'm not really a security expert, and I think I've read stuff hinting that this might be true, but I've never seen a straight answer.

So, to the security experts out there, is having a router the same as having a firewall? What's the difference? If it is the same thing, does IP tables become redundant if you have a router?

Please explain it to me as if I were a moron... because I am when it comes to security and networking.

jgrabham
June 5th, 2007, 07:42 PM
Erm a firewall is software. (I'm not an expert either) Routers can have firewalls built in.

aysiu
June 5th, 2007, 07:44 PM
Erm a firewall is software. (I'm not an expert either) Routers can have firewalls built in.
So a router can have a software firewall built into it, but it doesn't have to?

And does that then make IP tables redundant?

stimpack
June 5th, 2007, 07:47 PM
Routers using NAT mean outside sources can't uninvitedly talk to your computer because they have no idea of your internal IP.

So many hold that a firewall is redundant behind a router. I have no idea if it is a fully secure belief though.

matthinckley
June 5th, 2007, 07:47 PM
yes a router will act as a firewall.. since it performs network address translation and does not allow traffic to pass from the outside to a device on the inside without setting up specific port forwards this would make iptables redundant.

EDIT: unless you are trying to block computers on the inside network access to the pc with iptables.. in this case you would need iptables as the router does not block any traffic on the inside. for instance if you have a wireless network you may want to use iptables on your pc's so that in the event someone hacks your wireless network they will not have unrestricted access to your pc.

SishGupta
June 5th, 2007, 07:55 PM