PDA

View Full Version : Philly: What's next?

lamalex
June 4th, 2007, 07:46 PM
Girls inc is this weekend, but what is our next major community event? Software freedom day isn't until september so we should probably do 1 more medium sized event before then, so what do we want to do? Just info distribution? A FSF benefit show? Free (as in freedom) Barbecue? I think we should do a small-medium sized event and then do something awesome for software freedom day (which we should start planning now)

elizabeth
June 4th, 2007, 08:45 PM
I like the BBQ idea, even if it's just a "social" thing.

PLUG used to have annual picnics but they stopped being terribly successful and sort of died out (last one was in 2003 for the 10th anniversary of Debian). It'd be good to hook up with them (I say "them" but I am a PLUG admin ;-)) and do something jointly.

jedijf
June 5th, 2007, 03:51 PM
I like the BBQ idea, even if it's just a "social" thing.

I agree with Lyz, with 2 successful events already completed, and Kevin's ongoing stuff with malt / Girls, Inc., we need to back it off just a little and give the Philly / Southeast team the opportunity to grow.

I haven't actually checked the numbers, but I don't think we realized a great bump in loco members after these events. With the exposure that these events created, you would expect / hope that some of these people would become loco members and start to get involved.

Maybe add a new post to www.meetlinux.com (http://www.meetlinux.com) thanking everyone for coming and participating, and a prominent link to the resources page.
And asking people to join the LoCo and get involved. Sometimes all you have to do is ask.

A laid back BBQ / Picnic event can help the recent relationships created develop into full blown active membership; hopefully.

If we run too quickly from event to event without membership growth, we end being event promoters, not community builders.

kejava
June 5th, 2007, 08:18 PM