PDA

View Full Version : Fun things to do with lots of RAM...

Finch75
June 3rd, 2007, 05:23 PM
Hi everybody,

at the moment, RAM is "incredibly cheap" (well, everything it relative, I guess *g*) and I'm seriously thinking about a nice upgrade. Now, the number of RAM slots is limited and 2 GB modules still cost about 3 times as much as 1 GB modules.

I'm willing to spend some money if I can then do "really cool :cool: things" (tm) - but it would be a real waste if it went unused or made the computer just 1% faster. I'm new to Linux, can you help me come up with cool ideas?

These are my ideas now, I don't even know if they are doable (are they?)

1) Load the entire OS (and I'm not talking about DSL here, I'm talking about a FULL (K)Ubuntu incl. stuff like OpenOffice, Amarok and developer stuff like Eclipse) into RAM during/after boot and then have it be incredibly fast. Ideally, I could have the system drive go to sleep? I could use USB as /home and wouldn't need swap anyway...

2) Have a large RAM disk, load a couple of CDs (MP3 / flac) onto the RAM disk and have them play while all hard disks go to sleep... (maybe you see a pattern here? :-))
2a) load a DVD into memory?! that would obviously only work for single layer DVDs, maybe not movies?)
2b) put my (huge) browser profile on a RAM disk

3) Run several Virtual Machines at once (probably VMWare Player, maybe VMWare Server, very unlikely, but maybe: XEN) and have them be "incredibly fast" (tm) (I'm talking about 4 or even 6 GB memory for the 64 bit host, so that allow a large disk cache for the VM and even for the guest?)

In general, I want a "silent PC" that does not make ANY sound while I'm not using it (!) and very little noise while I AM using it... (i have a fanless PSU and a really quiet CPU cooler - the only thing that's really moving is the hard disk)