PDA

View Full Version : Just to say thanks!

deusdies
June 2nd, 2007, 01:18 PM
Hello my dear Ubuntuers!

I had Ubuntu version 6 and I had some problems during installation (my disk couldn't be partitioned), but yesterday I got my 7.04 version in my mailbox.

I'll never use Windows again.

Ubuntu is PERFECT!!! It is SO MUCH CLEAN FOR EYES, GUI DESIGN IS PERFECT!!! I had no troubles accessing my files on other, NTFS type disks! Just to find a good emulator for .EXE applications, and, FAREWELL MY WINDOWS!!!

I am still new to this. How many times do I have to say UBUNTU IS PERFECT???

Thank you very much developers. Thank you people supporting this OS. Thanks everyone

Sincerely yours
-Deusdies
http://www.rammstein-online.com

happy-and-lost
June 2nd, 2007, 02:42 PM
:D Glad to hear it. For your .EXE files, there's a program called wine which runs most simple ones OK, and some games too.

It's in the repos (can't remember which) sudo apt-get install wine

Don't forget to run winecfg in the terminal after you install it.

Roadrunner777
June 3rd, 2007, 12:17 AM
I suppose this is as good a place as any to add my personal thank you for the people that take time to help others in the forums.

Earlier today, I decided to add nvidia-settings to my system through Synaptic. The installation told me it would have to remove nvidia-glx. And, I'm thinking, sure, whatever, Synaptic would tell me if this was a bad thing to do.

I rebooted later in the day and got nothing but a big fat error message. I got on to the forums with another hard drive (my imaged backup) and found out exactly how to get to a recovery prompt, and how to fix xorg.conf. Took me about 30 minutes. Nice.

The main reason why I chose Ubuntu and continue with it is because of this community of helpful people.

I Thank You.

- Phil

AndyCooll
June 3rd, 2007, 12:32 AM
On behalf of all Ubuntu Forums folk, thanks. It's always pleasing to recieve compliments.

:cool:

ep2011
June 3rd, 2007, 02:00 AM