PDA

View Full Version : Let's talk love (Or: Linux is driving me nuts)

use a name
May 31st, 2007, 08:37 PM
A few months ago I could really admire MS for the OS they built (XP). It was simply good enough. I've been using linux for a few years, but dual-booted it with XP and only used it when I needed it. The only thing I had against MS was that they require you to pay a whole lot of money to use their development tools for business. As if they would even exist if there was not such a huge application pool for their OS!

But then Ubuntu came along...

My admiration for linux has since far exceeded the admiration I had for MS. I'm affraid I can't take rational decisions anymore. I'll be buying DELLs and PDAs/phones that will run Linux. I'll probably even pay more for them if that's how the prices are. It's driving me nuts! Could it be love?

How are things with you? Is it love? Is it a coldhearted marriage for the big fortune? Are you stuck with Windows?

Iarwain ben-adar
May 31st, 2007, 09:09 PM
Hmm,
i'm more of an economist:
If it works with Linux, but is cheaper to buy with a Windows version on it, i'll buy the cheapest.
I like Linux, i like open-source. The problem is i don't have that much money to toss around :D

EDIT: i'd buy a Windows thing to save money (and i just put Linux on it)

Iarwain

dj1120
May 31st, 2007, 09:16 PM
I not sure it's love - Yet!! But I am becoming a Linux fanatic and trying to convert others ( I am working on one of my coworkers and my mom right now) I even carry the the Feisty and Sabayon Live Cd's with me and boot them up for people who show interest . (odd yes but that wont stop me)

B0rsuk
May 31st, 2007, 09:18 PM
Looks like you're not ready to use Linux. Sorry to hear that.

justin whitaker
May 31st, 2007, 09:22 PM
I have money, or at least, enough to purchase something if I want it. Open source appeals to both my heart, and my cold calculating mind.

Heart:

Cute mascot. Penguins, or Windows?