PDA

View Full Version : Wubi in Virtual PC 2007 on Vista

bobb32756
May 30th, 2007, 06:53 PM
I want to install Wubi on my Virtual PC 2007 running on Vista Ultimate. I need to put the
Wubi-7.04-test2.exe on a CD but I need to make it bootable. I am new to Linux and I
need the correct files to add to the CD to make it bootable. Can anyone help with what
or where to find the files I'll need to add to the CD to operate in Virtual PC 2007.

ecology2007
May 30th, 2007, 10:43 PM
Wubi is designed especially to eliminate the need of having to use a CD, or having to test linux in Virtual PC, VmWare or Virtual Box.

You will be able to download, install and run Ubuntu side by side with Windows only by running wubi.exe.
(No need to put it in Virtual PC, no need to burn a CD)

Is Vista running in Virtual box, or is Virtual PC running in Vista ?
Why do you want a CD ?
Do you have access to the internet on this computer ?

Give us as many details as you can think of and a clear scheme of what you want to do.

bobb32756
May 31st, 2007, 03:35 AM
I am running Vista Ultimate x64 as my OS. I have Virtual PC 2007 installed that I am running Win XP & Win 2K on for doing my tech support for work. I was wanting to install the Wubi on the Virtual PC 2007 so I can work with it when I'm not on calls for support. In order to install it into the Virtual PC 2007 it has to come from CD or Floppy. To get the CD to start or be recognized it has to be bootable for the installation. If I have the system files, I can make the CD bootable when I burn it. My computer is dual boot with XP 64 bit and Vista. I am running my home network on broadband so I do have high speed internet. The only reason I was trying to do it on my Virtual PC so I can work with it while having my Vista and other OS's active for work. This is my first attempt at learning Linux.

ago
May 31st, 2007, 08:19 AM