PDA

View Full Version : Can you install a SATA hard drive in a PC which originally had a PATA hard drive?



user1397
May 30th, 2007, 02:54 AM
I have a 2004 desktop, and it has a 160 GB HD, which is failing slowly but surely. I was thinking about upgrading it, but I don't know yet.

But, I don't know if you can put it a SATA HD if the original HD was PATA or IDE (I don't know if motherboards are one way or the other)

What I do know is that my power supply unit does have a SATA connection, so that wouldn't be a problem.

Also, what would be the best way to disconnect all those wide, grey cables coming out of the IDE HD?

Lucifiel
May 30th, 2007, 02:59 AM
Uhm, first of all, what's your motherboard model?

If we know what the model is, then we can check for SATA support.

raldz
May 30th, 2007, 02:59 AM
What's the model of your motherboard? Most SATA motherboards have IDE or PATA too.. check the motherboard, if it has a 7 pin data connector/slot then that would most likely be the SATA slot.. or, try to check the BIOS, if it has configuration settings for SATA/RAID, then you know what that implies.. :)


Ok.. now with no intention to hijack this thread, can someone tell me if I could use IDE for PATA? My laptop uses PATA and I want to buy a bigger HD, but only IDE drives are available.

Lucifiel
May 30th, 2007, 03:03 AM
Oh wait! There's a faster way to check... LOL.

Look at your motherboard and see if it has a slot called SATA. If there isn't, then it's either not labelled or SATA is not supported.

loopeando
May 30th, 2007, 04:44 AM
Yes, you can with a IDE to SATA/SATA to IDE conversor.

This a pic of my home server (An old PCChips motherboard with a AMD K6-2) with a Western Digital 320GB SATAII hard drive.

http://img483.imageshack.us/img483/4708/p5300009an9.th.jpg (http://img483.imageshack.us/my.php?image=p5300009an9.jpg)

grndslm
May 30th, 2007, 06:59 AM
Ok.. now with no intention to hijack this thread, can someone tell me if I could use IDE for PATA? My laptop uses PATA and I want to buy a bigger HD, but only IDE drives are available.IDE equals PATA, Parallel ATA, the precursor to Serial ATA.

user1397
May 31st, 2007, 02:32 AM
I found my motherboard specs here: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00063254&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=412538&lang=en#

so yea, I guess it does support SATA, though I don't physically see the slot...(it's just me though)

Compucore
May 31st, 2007, 02:49 AM
I can see the connections on the diagram and on the picture. Take a look where the PCI slots are. And move right. Youcannot miss it it is marked SATA1 and SATA2. if you count from bottom to top of the pci connectors. Third one move right right after the chips set. you cannot miss it right after that. Its two black connections.

Compucore



I found my motherboard specs here: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c00063254&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=412538&lang=en#

so yea, I guess it does support SATA, though I don't physically see the slot...(it's just me though)

user1397
May 31st, 2007, 06:48 PM
I can see the connections on the diagram and on the picture. Take a look where the PCI slots are. And move right. Youcannot miss it it is marked SATA1 and SATA2. if you count from bottom to top of the pci connectors. Third one move right right after the chips set. you cannot miss it right after that. Its two black connections.

Compucoreah, yea I see it now...thanks