PDA

View Full Version : Quick questions on Running Windows inside Linux

Supergoo
May 29th, 2007, 07:45 AM
Hey guys just a few quick questions if you would indulge me please, here is the story in a nut shell, I at one time had all M$ products gone, but had to go back to use M$ for a bit and now have Windows Vista ( Crap Vista) , anyway I have completed what I had to do, and want to get back to Linux again, but since I am still learning I need some advice to see if something is possible. I want to be able to run WindowsXp or Vista inside Ubuntu in something like VMWare, the reason is the following, if I have to use a windows App (Not Games) I can boot into Linux fire up the needed M$ OS do what I need and get it done, I do not want to go through this M$ crap again, also just a side note I have a Zune the wife bought and it would be nice to be able to sync music to it, ( I am waiting for Linux for this Machine):p

A few reasons I want to get back to Linux if you will bare with me -

My system is a 3.33Ghz Celeron, 2 Gig Ram , X1900 Ati card, it ran like a bat out of hell under linux but under Vista it runs so-so, I know this is not the most top of the line system , but it should have alittle life left in it, I am not ready to drop another 1200 bucks on a machine right now.

I have a intel based Mac and I do not want to pay the the high cost of replacing it when I can buy good hardware at a fraction of the cost and have it run better, and faster, (Building a Linux Box)

The most important reason is I HATE not being able to customize my machine the way I want, because some suit At M$ or Apple decided not to allow it, I also do not like being subject to the whims of other people telling me that I must jump through this hoop and that hoop and they might allow me to use their OS.