PDA

View Full Version : Ruby and long/large numbers

DucentiVigintiDuo
May 28th, 2007, 10:25 AM
Hey everyone,

this might sound like a stupid question, but what can one do to handle extremely long numbers in Ruby? I've recently started solving the problems in the Euler project, and even though I think I've got the solution to a certain problem, it doesn't seem to work.

Computing (factoring in particular) with the number 317584931803 seems to work just fine, but later down in the code when I ask it to do that many repetitions it gets stuck!

Is that because my computer doesn't have enough processing power or is it Ruby's fault?

I'm on a 1.83 Dual Core Macbook with 512MB of RAM.

And here's the code fragment:

factors = []
x = 2
number = 317584931803

begin
if(number%x==0)
factors << x
end
x+=1
end until x > number

puts factors

nitro_n2o
May 28th, 2007, 10:35 AM
That sounds like iterating forever!!!
I'm not a ruby expert but try:
end until x*x < number
there are no prime factors greater than the sqrt of the number

DeadEyes
May 28th, 2007, 11:23 AM
Ruby should handle big numbers automatically, as far as i know it hold numbers in a knid of string so the only limit is memory. no int type overflows.

DucentiVigintiDuo
May 28th, 2007, 01:37 PM
That sounds like iterating forever!!!
I'm not a ruby expert but try:
end until x*x < number
there are no prime factors greater than the sqrt of the number

I thought of doing that but I didn't remember if it was mathematically right.
Thanks nitro, I'm going to try it out and see if it works now.

EDIT: I tried out x*x > number (it's > and not < because it continues until the number is bigger than that, not while it is smaller)
but then I thought x > Math.sqrt(number) was more elegant and gave the same result and preferred to keep it that way.

And just for the heck of it,
here's the problem:

The prime factors of 13195 are 5, 7, 13 and 29.

What is the largest prime factor of the number 317584931803?