PDA

View Full Version : developing a GUI program (and IDE to be exact)

rbprogrammer
May 27th, 2007, 06:43 PM
whenever i use an IDE, there are always way too many features i think that over complicate the program. and there are always features missing that i think would be a nice touch to the program. and then, if there is something that i want to do with a feature, i have to figure out how to do it. so i decided that i want to develop my own IDE. a very basic one. i'm not looking to make it the next best thing, i just want it for myself. and since i have some extra time to spare, i'll make it now. i'm just going to make an extremely basic IDE, or an advanced text editor, depending on how you look at it.

i've decided to make it using C/C++ since those are my most favorite languages. the only thing is that i am not too good with GUI programming. so i am wondering how i should go about doing that part.

some features that i would put in are syntax highlighting, some way of developing a project (ie with multiple files), and a run/execute button.

the only feature that i see a problem with is the syntax highlighting. i'm not familiar with GUI programming so i dont know what to use. QT3, QT4, wxWidgets, GTK+, etc...

i guess my question is what should i use to do the GUI?

ankursethi
May 27th, 2007, 07:08 PM
If you want to use C, go with GTK+. For C++, use Qt. These two are the most widely used toolkits.

kknd
May 27th, 2007, 10:09 PM

i guess my question is what should i use to do the GUI?

My advice:

GUI "toolkit": wxWidgets + Scintilla("code editing widget") (wxWidgets now have a wrapper to it), for portability and because its good too =).

For code-completion / tag navigation you could use ctags / icomplete! With icomplete the code completion for C++ becomes more easy to do!

rbprogrammer
June 2nd, 2007, 10:31 PM
If you want to use C, go with GTK+. For C++, use Qt. These two are the most widely used toolkits.