PDA

View Full Version : Music players and iPods

egorgry
May 27th, 2007, 03:49 PM
I hope this isn't too redundant as I see a lot of questions and answers but I was hoping to start a more round table type of discussion about preferred music players and how they operate with iPods.

I'm in love with listen but I can't sync my iPod with it, I can sync in banshee but I'm not a huge fan of the UI, and, I haven't found anything that I like to sync podcasts. Perhaps I'm a bit of a pain but I'd love to get all this stuff in one app. I'm curious about what other people think/use and what are the pros and cons in their honest opinion.

I've been using some flavor of linux for over 8 years now and I love the OS and I love the community but I find that most linux users turn a blind eye to certain issues. Maybe most are an optimistic bunch ;)

So comments like amarock is awesome are welcome but please provide some evidence of it's awesomeness and please share any cons no matter how small you may think they are. Remember maybe it's something you can live with but it might drive another user utterly mad. Thanks and I look forward to any comments.

ghandi69_
May 27th, 2007, 04:31 PM
I love Amarok(use it in Gnome without ever having a problem)... mainly because I love the look/feel and the wiki/lyrics/content tab seems to work better for me than in other music players I have tried...

However.. I have worked on the following issues, but have never been alble to do the following in Amarok

- Get .flac files to work, they play in every other media player, but not amarok. This seems to be a known problem with the one in Dapper, and I havent found a fix yet.

- I have never been able to my ipod nano to sync up with any media player EVER!... My ipod has pretty much been collecting dust ever since I've made the switch to Linux over a year ago.