PDA

View Full Version : What's so bad about GIMP?

PatrickMay16
May 25th, 2007, 02:57 PM
Hello everyone,

On this and other forums, I often see people expressing dislike of the GIMP. People often say that it's horrible, or nasty, has a bad interface, amongst other things.
Myself, I use it for some things and I find it OK. But before I used GIMP, I never really used any other things except MS paint and an old version of Corel Photo-paint, so I have little experience of other image editors.

What do you dislike about the GIMP? Explain it in detail, and show some examples of it. I want to see if people dislike it because it really is poor, or because everyone's used to photoshop and don't like GIMP simply because it is different.

codesplice
May 25th, 2007, 03:03 PM
I've used both GIMP and Photoshop CS extensively, and I must say that each of them have features that I appreciate.

GIMP seems to be more powerful, though not as easy to use. The right-click context menu-driven interface is superb, giving quick access to every function in the program. A big complaint that I've heard from some friends who use GIMP for basic photo-editing is the lack of an automated red-eye fix tool. You can still use GIMP to fix red-eyes, it just takes several steps and a handful of minutes - and the results come out looking better and more natural than any automated tool that I've seen.

Photoshop is the industry standard for image editing, and there is a reason for that. The interface is natural and easy to use; the program is powerful enough to accomplish most everything that a user could want to do; and it has plenty of automated tasks for touching up photos in a hurry.

My general analysis is that Photoshop is easier to use, while GIMP is a more powerful editor.

PatrickMay16
May 25th, 2007, 03:21 PM
Thanks for the reply, codesplice.
I assume you work as a graphics designer? Just curious.

starcraft.man
May 25th, 2007, 03:24 PM