PDA

View Full Version : I'm going to try to learn how to program. Which language do you recommend and why?

medicineman24
May 25th, 2007, 12:06 AM
Thanx

atlfalcons866
May 25th, 2007, 12:08 AM
i use eclipse it is free and open source i dont even know how to program someone recommeded to me

Znupi
May 25th, 2007, 12:13 AM
It depends what you want to do. I'm specialized (well, self-taught, have been studying for over an year now, but I know almost as much as my bro knows, who is 7 years older and is a hired web developer) in web developing, so I'd recommend HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, MySQL. This is what I know, and like, a lot. Right now I'm struggling with Python, and it looks reeaaaally nice, but it's syntax is a bit confusing, but it's fresh and I like it. Unfortunately, I don't have time to study because of school, so I'll have to wait for the holidays.

Anyway, if you're just starting off, and don't know the tiniest bit about programming, you should probably start with C++.

If you want to look into web technologies, W3Schools (http://w3schools.com) is a good place to start. They really have some nice tutorials. At least that's where I first went.

melancholeric
May 25th, 2007, 12:15 AM
Python.

Why? The syntax is simple enough. When you're beginning to learn programming, you don't want to waste time on learning obscure semicolon placement rules, you'd rather focus on the problem solving and getting things done.

Hello world in C++:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
int main()
{
cout << "Hello world!" << endl;
return 0;
}

And in python ?

print "Hello world"

And besides, once you learn one language, it's generally easy to move to new languages.

medicineman24
May 25th, 2007, 12:17 AM
So python or C++? Pros Cons?

Znupi
May 25th, 2007, 12:21 AM