PDA

View Full Version : The Laptop dilemma

nocturn
June 29th, 2005, 01:11 PM
<rant>
I'm going crazy trying to find a laptop to replace my desktop. I have spend one month searching and selecting machines and either the hardware/support is no good or it does not Work with Linux (or is just way to expensive).

Then I finally select one that looks perfect, a HP Pavilion zv5474EA (marginally withing budget, Amd64, 15.4", Nvidia card). I mail the store that has it on their site to place my order....
No longer available, replaced with the zv6000 series which is faster and cheaper, but comes with an ATI card (and is reported to not work with Linux).

I never expected it would be that difficult to find a lappy that is penguin friendly (apart from getting an MS license shoved). I have been running Linux for 8 years, exclusively for 6 and I never had much problems with hardware.
</rant>

Disclaimer: I'm not blaming Linux for this, I just wish that vendors would make some effort to make their stuff work with Linux. Nvidia cards would go a long way for now.
I'm also limited to suppliers in my own country (Belgium) because we have a unique kind of Azerty keyboard (be2-azerty).

sapo
June 29th, 2005, 01:24 PM
here we have a neighbour country called paraguay you all know wich country is it..

Every piece of hardware that i have came from there.. withou taxes :roll:

So.. here we dont depend on stores.. we just ask somebody to bring anything from there :grin:

nocturn
June 29th, 2005, 01:36 PM
So.. here we dont depend on stores.. we just ask somebody to bring anything from there :grin:

If it wasn't for the silly Belgian keyboard, I could go to the Netherlands (only 15km from my home). But they use Qwerty. I can get used to Qwerty pretty easy (I used to work there), but at work, I have Azerty and switching is a pain.

Takis
June 29th, 2005, 02:15 PM