PDA

View Full Version : new to linux

kaosrave
May 23rd, 2007, 05:58 AM
hello,
im new to the whole Linux, and i wanted to try ubuntu. I may be a noob at this so theres no need to bash me. I'm just curious about some issues before i actually install ubuntu. I am a gamer so i was jsut wondering if the many online gamews i play will work on ubunutu, and the many diffferent software i use as well. How different is Ubuntu from XP?

benanzo
May 23rd, 2007, 06:47 AM
Welcome!
(Don't worry about people bashing you for being new, we all started somewhere. If you get bashed, it's their problem, not yours.)

Onto your questions:

First, games. This is, unfortunately, a sore spot for Linux/Mac in general. Not very many commercial game developers make the effort to develop cross-platform. While this excludes them from accessing Linux/Mac marketshare, this offers other developers who are willing a good opportunity to innovate in whatever direction they see fit. Over the years we have seen some impressive titles come to Linux built on various open-source engines.

For specific titles and projects, I'd refer you to http://icculus.org/

There is also the possibility of running some commercial games for Windows in emulation via WINE http://www.winehq.org/

This is a very common method of playing popular games.

As to the overall similarities/differences between Linux (specifically Ubuntu) and Windows XP...