PDA

View Full Version : Backing up files to external hard drive while using Wubi install

hummingbird59
May 21st, 2007, 07:33 PM
Here's a question: I am using Wubi Feisty version from approximately first of May. I used Open Office in Windoz and have a data file there. I can access and modify these files in Linux thanks to Wubi (WOW!):D When I save changes, the changes are made in my windows file. Good so far. I like to backup these data files weekly and I was doing that using a 60GB Maxtor One Touch. Linux sees this drive and I can read files on it, but I can't write to it. I looked around the forums and found that I needed NTFS config so I installed that via Synaptic. When I ran that, it showed only one drive, an SDA drive and I was not sure that it was referencing the Maxtor so I did not do anything. Then, I realized NTFS is already incorporated within Wubi. So, I uninstalled what I downloaded so as not to mess up wubi. I'm a complete newbie as far as NTFS and every time I read the how to guide for it, I'm left scratching my head. Anyway, how do I get write permission to my Maxtor under Wubi without confusing it or me? Any help or ideas are GREAT! Thanks in advance!

ago
May 21st, 2007, 08:01 PM
WIth wubi you will basically get 2 drives for ntfs, the default one is read-only, the ntfs-3g is read write. If you do not specify otherwise the read-only one is used (except for the drive hosting the wubi folder which is always accessed via ntfs-3g). ntfs-config allows, among other things, to use ntfs-3g as default driver, therefore when the disk appears in the file browser the access is r/w. If you want to learn how to that manually that is a good chance to learn a few Linux commands and concepts, otherwise use the graphical configuration tool.

hummingbird59
May 21st, 2007, 08:29 PM