PDA

View Full Version : Best Ubuntu "how to" book ?

Whodoes
May 21st, 2007, 07:28 PM
I'm a beginner and I'm willing to spend the time required to learn. I'm looking for recommendations on the best "Ubuntu for beginners" type of book. The Ubuntu bible looked good and progressively in-depth. also "Beginning Ubuntu Linux" and... most of the others, I have no idea, please help.
FYI im looking for a book since most of the instruction I'm finding online seems geared towards task-specific solutions for specific problems rather than a broader ground up introduction to the concepts and functionality of Linux. It's great that i can just paste the string of console instructions required to make something work from someones "how to " thread. I just dont have the slightest idea what I'm doing, what I'm doing it to, how to undo it or how to do it again without finding the same thread.
-thanks in advance and sorry for rambling

Whodoes
May 21st, 2007, 08:09 PM
if it matters, my primary rationalization for going Linux is to build a media server/mythtv box for my home network.

newlinux
May 21st, 2007, 08:15 PM
Are you interested more in a Ubuntu specific book or a Linux concepts book that more broadly applies?

Whodoes
May 21st, 2007, 08:20 PM
i think something leaning towards Ubuntu linux. where there might be ambiguity I would rather that the book err towards what I will be using.

newlinux
May 21st, 2007, 08:21 PM
If you are interested specifically in ubuntu...

When I first started with ubuntu I purchased "Ubuntu Hacks." "The official Ubuntu Guide" is a good book for concepts and background on ubuntu. The problem with both of these books is that I believe the focus on Dapper (6.06) while the latest release is 7.04, but I'm sure much of them apply, especially the conceptual parts (and there is nothing wrong with running dapper - it is still supported and will be for a while).

I've also perused "Ubuntu Linux Bible" in the bookstore and it looks pretty good too.

TennTux