PDA

View Full Version : Missing project templates in Netbeans on Ubuntu

smartX
May 19th, 2007, 06:58 PM
I am new to Ubuntu and Linux. I installed NetBeans but many of the new project templates were missing. I installed the same version (5.5) on my Windows Vista and it displays all the templates. I reinstalled netbeans several times changed and reinstalled JVMs (I am using java6 now) but to no avail. I tried the .deb packages as well as .bin installations but still no progress. I googled a lot but could only find a few posts with the same problem but no solution. Is this something inherent to linux or am I missing some sort of configuration. I appreciate your help.

haloedrain
May 20th, 2007, 11:41 PM
I'm having the same or at least a similar problem. When I try to create a new project I have the categories "Sample" and "Standard". The only project type for "Standard" is "Java Project With Existing Ant Script." I don't have one of those, so I can't create a new project. I'm used to seeing quite a few more categories than this on both sides.

I'm also having trouble opening existing project files. They have the little project icon on them, but when I click to open them the icon changes to a regular folder and I can't open them as a project.

I'm running java 6, Netbeans 5.5.

samjh
May 21st, 2007, 01:32 AM
No problems for me.

It shows all the standard project templates and wizards:

http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/9901/screenshotss4.png

Are you guys running Compz/Beryl or "Desktop Effects" (actually Compiz)? If you are, then turn them off.

Otherwise, something is serious kooky with your configuration or installations. Try downloading the installation binary again, maybe it was corrupted.

haloedrain
May 21st, 2007, 02:05 AM
This is what I get. It's missing most of the categories and has an extra Standard category.
http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/364/screenshotnewprojectdc7.png