PDA

View Full Version : Who works and studies?

Solicitous
May 17th, 2007, 01:05 PM
Hi All,

I've been curious for a while about how many people here on the forums work and also study (and also perhaps trade tips on coping with doing both concurrently). I'm currently working full-time as an IT Technician (Windows Blah!) and studying full-time doing a degree in Business (Accounting).
What about the rest of you? Anyone else working and studying at the same time??

beercz
May 17th, 2007, 02:32 PM
I have.

I have studied for a BSc in computer science whilst working - took me 9 years part time. Finished it 5 years ago.

Then I did an MSc in distributed systems and networks - took me another 2 years and 9 months. Finished it a year ago.

I am 45 and an IT Director full time and am involved in a part time business. And I am married with 2 children.

Anyone who says they don't have time to me just will not wash!!

Good luck with your studies, it's well worth it in the end! :-)

tribaal
May 17th, 2007, 02:35 PM
I do

I work full time as a software engineer (linux :) ), and finish my engineering degree (CS) on evening shifts.

It's pretty tough to keep up with everything, and it makes social life a vague notion, but I love what I do :)

- trib'

Jad
May 17th, 2007, 02:37 PM
I studied Political science and Law while working as developer and now I'm full time developer and thinking to take some short courses on many topics like Philosophy, Software engineering, History.

matthinckley
May 17th, 2007, 02:58 PM
I work full time at a corporate helpdesk and go to college full time studying for a Bachelors in Information System Security.. on top of having a 2 year old son I find managing my time is getting more difficult but I'm hoping it will be worth it when I get out of school.

On a good note I have successfully converted quite a few fellow students to Ubuntu over the last year or so.. the most recent was a total windows fan-boy until he tried out Vista (LOL)..

samjh