PDA

View Full Version : When is it too late to get into computers as a career?

diargasm
May 17th, 2007, 08:22 AM
I'm turning Twenty this month and I still have not taken any computer (programming/engineering) courses in college. I'm wondering if the boat is sailing on this one. I have no experience in programming, a little experience on web design, and no experience on engineering/electronics. I've been taking accounting classes for my major and I'm wondering if I should get into something I'd love doing or something that will probably be more reliable and successful in the future - like accounting. Any ideas or suggestions?

karellen
May 17th, 2007, 08:24 AM
never.
(or maybe after you turn something like fifty...)
:)
anyway, you should do what you like doing, not something that is more "reliable" or "successful". it's the best advice I could give to anyone

shazzed
May 17th, 2007, 08:28 AM
My Boss is like 60 and self taught himself CGI scripting in a year, and is very proficient in the language.
Your only 20 dude! I am a 25 year old graphic designer/ web developer and only just starting to learn PHP in my down time. It's never too late :)

karellen
May 17th, 2007, 08:45 AM
My Boss is like 60 and self taught himself CGI scripting in a year, and is very proficient in the language.
Your only 20 dude! I am a 25 year old graphic designer/ web developer and only just starting to learn PHP in my down time. It's never too late :)

I second this :)

OffHand
May 17th, 2007, 08:48 AM
anyway, you should do what you like doing, not something that is more "reliable" or "successful". it's the best advice I could give to anyone

+1

Lord Illidan
May 17th, 2007, 08:50 AM
Never too late...if you want to start, do it now.

WalmartSniperLX
May 17th, 2007, 08:51 AM