PDA

View Full Version : Can we sue MS for defamation?

Sunnz
May 17th, 2007, 04:58 AM
So they've hit the headline again, is there something that we Linux people can do better than "show us the code"?

Now I am not a lawyer, but I hope someone knowledgeable can come out say something about it...

Dr. C
May 17th, 2007, 05:26 AM
IANAL. The thought has defiantly crossed my mind.

A class action lawsuit on behalf of GNU/Linux users against Microsoft for defamation. I see a stronger case for those who have promoted or recommended GNU/Linux to an employer or a customer. In a jurisdiction such as the UK this can cause a world of hurt to Microsoft since apparently "truth" in not a sufficient defense against defamation. Remember the McLibel case?

joe.turion64x2
May 17th, 2007, 05:48 AM
IANAL. The thought has defiantly crossed my mind.

A class action lawsuit on behalf of GNU/Linux users against Microsoft for defamation. I see a stronger case for those who have promoted or recommended GNU/Linux to an employer or a customer. In a jurisdiction such as the UK this can cause a world of hurt to Microsoft since apparently "truth" in not a sufficient defense against defamation. Remember the McLibel case?
If the thing goes on, count me in to sign against MS.

Gmbrdilos
May 17th, 2007, 05:54 AM
you can sue anyone for anything in United States, the question should be do we have any chances of winning the lawsuit.

Sunnz
May 17th, 2007, 05:57 AM
Well we've got the people, the possibility is endless.

mills
May 17th, 2007, 05:59 AM
who gets the cash:-k

joe.turion64x2
May 17th, 2007, 06:00 AM
Well we've got the people, the possibility is endless.
Exact.

aquavitae
May 17th, 2007, 06:26 AM
who gets the cash:-k

I'd say the point of suing would not be the money, it would be to make the statement. Why not make another statement and donate the money to some charity?

mills
May 17th, 2007, 06:33 AM
or spend it on advertising linux, maybe

aquavitae
May 17th, 2007, 06:36 AM