PDA

View Full Version : Advertising?

Ride Jib
June 26th, 2005, 02:59 AM
I know there has been talk about a Ubuntu commercial. I was just curious what other attempts are being made to advertise Ubuntu to the general public?

I have been using Linux for about 5 years now, and I wouldn't have even heard of Ubuntu if someone at my local LUG didn't stress to me how awesome it was. Now that I have used it, and see that it is the best distro I have used (and I have tried over 10 flavors) and try to tell as many people as I can about it. I've gotten 3 people to convert (1 from Windows, and 2 from other distros).

Edit: Also.. I am aware of the spreadubuntu site, but I'm thinking more in terms of "in your face" advertising.

Anyway, just some food for thought.

somuchfortheafter
June 26th, 2005, 03:20 AM
i wanted popup adds ........ /sarcasm

royg1234
June 26th, 2005, 03:38 AM
like a TV commercial? lol. I'd throw some money in for a Superbowl commercial. When's the next time a Superbowl and a major release coincide? (or World Cup, if the ratings are comparable).

or how about MTV ads? or put Ubuntu into rap videos the way iPod did? or in a summer blockbuster? Times Square?

UbuWu
June 26th, 2005, 04:12 AM
like a TV commercial? lol. I'd throw some money in for a Superbowl commercial. When's the next time a Superbowl and a major release coincide? (or World Cup, if the ratings are comparable).

or how about MTV ads? or put Ubuntu into rap videos the way iPod did? or in a summer blockbuster? Times Square?

Mark Shuttleworth probably has enough money to do it all.... So who knows... Or maybe a plane can drop thousands of cd's all over New York.... :razz:

polo_step
June 26th, 2005, 11:57 AM
Competent broadcast advertising is incredibly expensive at every single turn. It's just mind boggling.