PDA

View Full Version : What language is used in the professional world

theDentist
May 14th, 2007, 06:36 PM
I am only an amateur programmer using mostly C/C++ language. When I program Ubuntu I use wxWidgets, GTK and Gnome. In Windows I use MFC and a bit of C++ .NET. All these are C/C++. Can all you programmers in the profession tell me what language is favoured in the real world out there where you all earn a living by it ( you have my sympathies and admiration!). This question has probably been asked before so my apologies if I'm boring you all.

pmasiar
May 14th, 2007, 06:47 PM
Can all you programmers in the profession tell me what language is favoured in the real world out there where you all earn a living by it .

First, define "real world". :-)

eentonig
May 14th, 2007, 06:50 PM
For me, the 'real world' is still outside the pc world. So I would define my 'real language' as being Dutch. But professionally, it's 'English'.

Concerning programming, I think it depends a lot in what kind of environment you end up.

guernicaaa
May 14th, 2007, 06:53 PM
I've noticed the huge rise in Java. I think that it will be really big in the next few years

skeeterbug
May 14th, 2007, 07:04 PM
C#/.NET are putting food on my table and a roof over my head. I convinced my boss to do our main website in ruby on rails, so every once in a while I get to dabble with that! Our core products are all C#/.NET based though.

justin whitaker
May 14th, 2007, 07:09 PM
Technically, we speak "Finance" where I work. :)

In terms of computer languages, we use just about everything: C/C++, Java, Perl, PHP...it really depends on what we need, and who is doing the work.

Mathiasdm
May 14th, 2007, 07:17 PM
I've noticed the huge rise in Java. I think that it will be really big in the next few years

It's been 'big' for quite a while already ;)

user1397
May 14th, 2007, 07:20 PM
Nobody likes python...:(

pmasiar
May 14th, 2007, 07:52 PM