PDA

View Full Version : Fired for not being qualified to administer Linux

darklemming54
May 13th, 2007, 02:19 AM
link (http://www.thisweeknews.com/?sec=home&story=sites/twn/content/pool/exclusives/051107-News-Bexley.html)

This is pretty ridiculous IMO. They didn't even give it a chance.

saxofoner
May 13th, 2007, 02:22 AM
Well, I'm a student, and I was suspended for a day for installing Ubuntu on a school computer.

:KS

tehkain
May 13th, 2007, 02:24 AM
For one he wasn't fired for recommending linux. He was let go because he was found to be unable to support their new setup. He is under qualified for their new linux system. They will be adopting linux and they will be dumping Windows ME. He is mad because he was the one who recommended linux, they researched it and decided to go with linux but also concluded that he wasn't capable to handle it.

yoasif
May 13th, 2007, 02:30 AM
misleading post.

he was fired because he didn't have degrees that they suddenly decided he needed, and possibly as scapegoating for lack of funds.

maniacmusician
May 13th, 2007, 02:31 AM
While I think the OP missed the point of that article, it's true that most schools dont seriously consider.

My school has been much more flexible in that department. They allowed me to take a fairly modern computer from the computer lab and install linux on it. After a few months, I also persudaed the tech board to consider a LTSP setup for our labs, and they're seriously deliberating it. It would certainly save them a lot of money, and the hassle of dealing with Vista when XP is discontinued.

weblordpepe
May 13th, 2007, 02:38 AM
Burn!!!
But suspended for putting Ubuntu on a school computer? Krikey. Well I can understand messing with school computers. However they need to be explicit on what you can & can't do.

I got banned from school computers for clicking on the Start menu. Aparently I was only meant to click on shortcuts in a open window that was rigged to the startup folder.