PDA

View Full Version : Java Swing Layout Managers Question

khughitt
May 13th, 2007, 12:12 AM
Hi,

I'm new to Swing and to GUI development in general. I'm having some trouble laying things out as i would like. For instance- for one frame, I would like to display a panel, and inside the panel have mostly space, except for four Components in the center (2 JTextFields and 2 JLabels).

When I just use GridLayout directly however the text-fields expand to fill all of the space and look ridiculous. I was able to get what I wanted by using a larger grid and padding the top and bottom with dummy labels, but this is not the best way to program I am sure :P

If anyone has any advice on how to do this- or on GUI programming / Swing in general it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

stuffradio
May 13th, 2007, 12:36 AM
It's fairly simple to do. Using the Swing library everything textfields, labels, etc. has an x co-ordination and a y co-ordination. You can also specify how wide to make things, etc.

I don't have a Java IDE installed in front of me, and haven't done it in a while, but basically just call the Library. Look through the library for the textfield and Labels.

If no one posts the code in a certain amount of time, I'll install an ide and post the code for you :)

EDIT: Not doing Java for a while makes it harder to write the code haha, I'm just playing around right now. If I ever get around to making something like your picture I'll post the code, however if someone else can do it instead be my guest :P

khughitt
May 13th, 2007, 05:47 AM
Thanks. It's okay if you don't get the chance to post the code. I'm gonna try checking out the GridBagLayout (http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/uiswing/layout/gridbag.html) layout manager and see if that will work for what i need. I tried setting the size also, but it didn't seem to take hold for some reason. I may have been going about it the wrong way however.