PDA

View Full Version : Who is to blame for flash problems? Adobe, Mozilla, or the web designers?

darweth
May 11th, 2007, 10:15 PM
I love Linux. :) I have been using it exclusively for close to 5 months now and cannot even think of going back to Windows. However, one thing that really eats away at my gut is broken state of Flash in the Linux world. I'd almost rather there not be any Flash 9 at all for us than there exist this buggy, broken excuse for an implementation. I know we still remain small in number and weak in the market, but why provide Flash at all if you are not going to work to maintain it and ensure cross-platform compatibility? Flash crashes FF on Linux more than it ever did on Windows. A billion sites do not even WORK properly. Without Flashblock, I would not be able to surf the net. Here are two examples that bug me, as a big sports fan:

http://espn.go.com/

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/

Notice how the menus cannot drop down over the flash junk on the left. This is simply inexcusable! I have even encountered this error on technology sites! Even Linux-oriented sites. This is just one problem I have with it. I could list more but I am bitter and frustrated. It is little things like this that make me wish I still had access to a M$ box. Silly, I know.

mech7
May 11th, 2007, 10:29 PM
That has nothing to do with flash but with an incorrect z-index :) it's just crap webdesign ;)

aysiu
May 11th, 2007, 10:38 PM
I vote all of the above, but mainly the web designers.
A billion sites do not even WORK properly. I'd say probably one thousand of those "billion sites" actually should be using Flash. The rest should use PHP, HTML, XML, CSS, etc.

matthinckley
May 11th, 2007, 10:39 PM
That has nothing to do with flash but with an incorrect z-index :) it's just crap webdesign ;)

I don't know anything about flash, but if it is bad design why does the site work fine in windows (using firefox)