PDA

View Full Version : GRUB4DOS bug fix

fvb
April 24th, 2007, 11:58 AM
Hello,

I wanted to write a message for my Dutch blog (http://monitor.volkskrantblog.nl/) on Wubi.
Downloading went fine, after reboot I got the boot menu.
But Ubuntu won't load:
FIND--SET-ROOT/WUBI/BOOT/MENU.LIST
ERROR 17 FILE NOT FOUND

Thanks,
Frans

Scortech
April 25th, 2007, 11:41 AM
I got this message too.I am new to wubi and ubuntu so I just uninstalled ubuntu and wubi..

ago
April 25th, 2007, 05:00 PM
Problens that cause error 17 generally are:

* initrd or linux kernel are fragmented
* the filesystem is compressed
* the filesystem is on a raid array
* peculiar drivers are required to acces the hard disk

A solution is usually to install on a different partition (it is usually sufficient to cut and paste the wubi folder to a different drive). If fragmentation is the problem defragmenting does help.

Temujin_12
April 27th, 2007, 05:24 PM
Those are good suggestions. I've been following Wubi for quite some time and run into error 17 on every version. Here's what I've tried:

Defragment hard drive using both default XP defregmentor and a more professional version (which I think was diskeeper)
Do the menu.1st copy paste again thing
Used contig (http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/utilities/contig.mspx) to manually defragment c:\wubi.

None of which have worked yet. I'm wondering if I fall under the "peculiar drivers are required to acces the hard disk" scenario. I'm running it on a Compaq Presario 2100 on which live CDs (of different variants) work fine and I am able to mount my ntfs drive using them.

If anyone is able to get Wubi to work on a Presario 2100 let me know. I'll try minefield today and post my findings.

celsus
May 4th, 2007, 05:13 AM