PDA

View Full Version : Orca Randomly disapears

Turtlecatpurrz
May 10th, 2007, 09:33 PM
Hello,

I am an absolute Linux Newbie. I only just installed Ubuntu today. I am also a legally blind Linux newbie, and am unsure if I am causing this problem, if it is my hardware, or simple a bug in the program, but there are the details.

I set up Ubuntu to run Orca automatically when I start the OS. It seems to work for a little while, but after not very long Orca seems to just drop out. It makes some sort of an error noise, and will not come back until I re-click on the apply menu in Orca itself.

I am running a dual boot,Win XP hiome and ubuntu has 10 GB of space. I have a 1.5 ghz celeron processor with 512 Ram. It is a laptop also, and I am using an external monitor. My Graphics card is Raedon 9000 (ATI) with 32 MB of power. Sound is intergrated on the mother board.

I do not recieve any error messages from Orca.

Should I try Gnopernicus instead? or should I try to keep working with Orca? Also, what is the best way to fix this problem? I appreciate the help, and the friendliness of everyone on the Ubuntu forums.

Oh, one other thing, Where can I get a good comprehensive list of keyboard shortcuts for GNOME?

americux
May 11th, 2007, 12:55 PM
Firstly, donīt leave Orca. Itīs been improved and constantly upgraded.
A question: what ubuntu version did you install?
Other questions: have you tried run it from a terminal console?
have you tried with alt+f2 and type orca and do enter?
Good luck.

Turtlecatpurrz
May 11th, 2007, 07:16 PM
Running Fiesty Fawn. Should I have installed something else?

Alt f2 is an improvement on getting it back up and working. thanks for that one. I haven't tried in true terminal yet.. its my very first Linux experience, and I haven't done much with terminal except the ls command. That was mostly just to see if it worked.