PDA

View Full Version : Let's talk partitioning.

picpak
May 6th, 2007, 04:46 PM
^ That should say...let's watch me rant about partitioning. That being said, this is a rant.

Alright, I've been using Linux for over 2 years now. I've compiled kernels. I've been stuck in a terminal for days on end. I've destroyed my Linux installs to the point of no return and repaired them back. But, and I know some of you will disagree, I think that partitioning is the single most cryptic, single most scary, and, quite frankly, downright useless thing a Linux user ever has to face. I applaud any new user who even grasps the concept of partitioning...because I just simply can't.

Take my sister's computer, for example. She's got a dual boot, so she's figured out more than me at this point. Her Windows drive is so full of bugs and viruses it's not even funny, so what she decided to do was delete the Windows drive and give all the free space to Linux. Sounds easy, huh? If only it was.

(Now, this was all said over the phone, so sometimes she may have not explained something clearly or I may have misinterpreted it. I REALLY wish she'd wait to bring her computer home to do these things...but I digress.)

Ok, so we boot into the Ubuntu CD, and run the partition manager. She has a lot of unallocated space, but we figure we can get to that later. Obviously removing the Windows drive was easy; right-click, delete. Now we have a huge amount of unallocated space. Ok, let's resize Linux. Linux won't resize any higher. OK then, let's try deleting the extended partition, free up some space. To delete it, you also need to delete the swap. Okay, She has a new enough computer...delete the swap. Now let's resize Linux. It resizes a little bit...but still ignores the space from Windows. Okay then...let's just start over.