PDA

View Full Version : How would you convince a Gentoo user to switch to Ubuntu ?

whoopsbob
May 3rd, 2007, 06:43 AM
Hi all,

I've been using Linux for several years, and Gentoo for that last year and a half. I'm pretty happy with the experience I've had with it. I love the package manager, the leanness of my machine, the community, the control it gives me over my system, and everything I've learned about Linux that I wouldn't have with other distros. (The long compile times and those three hours I spent getting my wifi usb stick to work not so much.) I basically spend all of my time at the command line or in Firefox or Thunderbird, so editing text files is not an issue for me. Neither are things like kernel compilations. Though I don't like the term, I guess I am what people call a "power user".

I've played around with Ubuntu for a little bit, though not much. But I've heard a lot of good things about the distro, and I'm thinking of trying it out.

But I really like Gentoo. And I've sort of been brainwashed into the "Ubuntu is only good for new Linux users" mentality by hearing that all the time.

So, can you convince me to seriously give Ubuntu a try ? Convince me that I won't be losing any of the control I have now, that it'll be a more pleasant experience, etc.

tbroderick
May 3rd, 2007, 06:54 AM
I wouldn't. Use whatever you like. Ubuntu is nice, but if you are satisfied with Gentoo, then don't bother switching.

igknighted
May 3rd, 2007, 06:59 AM
Hi all,