PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Carl Martin
May 3rd, 2007, 02:33 AM
Hi everyone. I just wanted to take a minute to introduce myself. I'm an absolute beginner to Ubuntu (5days) and am only starting to learn the system, so I'm sure I'll be posting a few questions in the days ahead. I decided to give Linux a try after years of Window: 95, 98, ME (still makes me shudder!!!) and XP. After reading about all the problems with Vista and its ridiculous hardware requirements, I thought that rather than upgrading my Athlon FX55 system - which was top of the line only a year ago - it was time to switch operating systems. Seems that, for now at least, Ubuntu is the way to go.

Hope to get to know many of you and look forward to the day when I'll be able to contribute to the community.

Carl

Kinkybuu
May 3rd, 2007, 02:39 AM
hola carl, pleasure to meet u. names Will. im rather new here too lol so i thought id stop in to say hi.

Mateo
May 3rd, 2007, 02:42 AM
good luck, next month or two will be frustrating.

ComplexNumber
May 3rd, 2007, 03:00 AM
thats not very encouraging. i'm sure what you really meant to say was, there may be a small learning curve as the OP adjusts from one operating system to another. it doesn't mean that hes going to find it frustrating. thats not a given. just like many others before him, he may well be so glad to escape from the windows treadmill that anything and everything is bearable.

Mateo
May 3rd, 2007, 03:06 AM
i'm just speaking from my experience. he may very well find it to be easy, I hope he does.

jfinkels
May 3rd, 2007, 03:06 AM

That's a little bit negative haha

Welcome friend! If you need anything at all, we're here to help (even if it's not computer-related)! If you have any questions, just make a new thread (probably in the Absolute Beginner section of the forums) and describe your problem. You should get used to Ubuntu very quickly.

ps checkout this site http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu

starcraft.man
May 3rd, 2007, 04:39 AM