PDA

View Full Version : What's your favorite KDE distro?

soulfly7x
May 1st, 2007, 05:51 PM
I'm new to anything outside of Windows, but in the few weeks of experimenting I have done, it seems like I like KDE better than GNOME. I frequently see in the forums that people say that Kubuntu is not very good as a KDE based distro, but I rarely see what ones they think are better, and more than that, Why they're better than Kubuntu.

So, I throw it out to you. What KDE distro do you like best, and what features does it have that make it so great? (I'm not being snide, I really want to know) Enlighten me. I'll try a few of them out based on recommendations, and based on the features you like, if they seem like ones I will like too.

Thanks.

lzfy
May 1st, 2007, 06:01 PM
If you want to use Kubuntu then use Feisty because it's the best KDE release so far. I also have good experiences with Pardus (http://www.pardus.org.tr/eng/index.html)
Best thing about Kubuntu is that it has a lot of packages and support. That's the reason why I returned to Kubuntu.

ComplexNumber
May 1st, 2007, 06:17 PM
i think the best one without a doubt is PCLinuxOS.

-nicest default look
-codecs included
-excellent central admin tools

Somenoob
May 1st, 2007, 06:24 PM
PCLinuxOS

fuscia
May 1st, 2007, 06:46 PM
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=270465

this might be useful to you, as well...

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=277090&highlight=kde-core

awakatanka
May 1st, 2007, 09:43 PM
Mepis (http://www.mepis.org) , its debian/ubuntu based, Everything works out of the box. Good community and the dev people interact with there users even the founder does.

KDE version is a little behind because they use dapper repo's and wanted stabilty over bleeding edge but they also have newer packages that buntu's dapper don't have.

Trying vectorlinux (http://www.vectorlinux.com) atm and its bleeding edge but the packages aren't that big.

Quillz
May 1st, 2007, 09:47 PM