PDA

View Full Version : Backup Ubuntu Cuurent Setup to CD/DVD

witechguy
May 1st, 2007, 04:12 AM
I need help!!

After reinstalling Ubuntu 3 times this weekend, I need to find a way to save a complete copy of my Ubuntu setup before it crashes etc on me again. I'm looking for a program that will let me make a updated .iso file I can reload later via DVD/CD later.

Any Ideas??

Thanks

-- Wrong forums category I know my bad --

simonn
May 1st, 2007, 05:03 AM
You shouldn't need to re-install, that is soooo windows. Linux does not have a registry to corrupt.

Try actually doing some trouble shooting.

Anyway, in linux everything is just a file so you can more or less just copy files or archive the files on a partition.

witechguy
May 1st, 2007, 04:02 PM
What can I say? I'm a late Linux Noob. I wish I got into Linux when I was a teenager in the 90's, Rather then just messing around with Microsoft. I bet if the knowledge was all with Linux in how it all works, along with troubleshooting it then, I could trouble shoot it as good as I do with windows.

Ok, so if I just copy the whole (File System) to my backup USB drive, then burn it to a .iso it should reload the whole OS over again with installed packages, programs etc I installed earlier in time?

Someone told me to use a package known as PartImage. How good & easy is it to use this program?

ridgeland
May 11th, 2007, 02:05 PM
In Windows I used System Backup - Restore (ntbackup) a lot. WindowsXP did not install it by default though!!! I wanted that ease in Linux and finally found it.
I use partimage and a LiveCD from SystemRescueCD
http://www.sysresccd.org/Main_Page

Each month I make a full copy of my preferred Linux OS (Ubuntu)
I keep several OS on my PC (one is WinXP) 7 others are Linux.