PDA

View Full Version : How to decide what to read...

Jad
June 19th, 2005, 11:02 PM
its funny whats happening with me today, today I decide to change some of my life style, so I charged up my credit card, and decided to purchase some books online but you know what I have forgot?
I forgot to decide what to read, I'm used to tech reading, so I can pick my needs of tech, but right now i'm not able to decide what I want to read about other than tech. and politics, I have no experience in other readings,
well I think I'll try light weight novels and see how it will goes.

asimon
June 19th, 2005, 11:25 PM
I too sometimes wish for a change of my life style. I sit too much in front of computers, when in fact I would rather want to sit in front of a good book.

If you want to know what books other Ubuntu users like, have a look at Top 5 books you have read (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=14183).

Lovechild
June 20th, 2005, 12:04 AM
Well, that depends on what kind of stories you like - I personally enjoy books like the Harry Potter series and the Narnia books (strangely I really hate Lord of the Rings though - don't shot me please). Stephen King's Dark Tower books are also excellent, abide a tad odd.

Lots of good books out there just waiting to be read.

TravisNewman
June 20th, 2005, 12:33 AM
I could never get into the Lord of the Rings books, though I like the storylines. Something about his writing is hard for me to get into. The harry potter books are great. Piers Anthony's Incarnations of Immortality series is fantastic.

mrtaber
June 20th, 2005, 12:42 AM
Call me slow, but I've just gotten around to reading "Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy"--I intend to read the full set. Fun.

Mark

gil-galad
June 20th, 2005, 01:47 AM
I recommend Richard Adams' Watership Down

I would recommend Tolkien, but thats not light reading.

I also recommend going down to your local library instead of ordering books online [-X

FLeiXiuS
June 20th, 2005, 02:00 AM