PDA

View Full Version : An Emulator for OSX?

teddybairs1
April 30th, 2007, 06:52 AM
Just a curiosity, as I'm not really a programmer by any means but I thought I'd throw it out there and see if it gets any responses.

I was reading on another thread a guy was wondering if there was anything like WINE, which is an implementation of the Windows API on a Unix or Unix type environment (and so by definition is not strictly an emulator), which would allow a program written for OSX to operate on a Linux platform.

As far as I know, no such program exists. What I was wondering, and I pose this question to those who would know more about it, is how hard it would be to write one? From my understanding, OSX has a Unix core, and shares many similarities with Linux under the hood. How hard would it be to write additional code to allow OSX programs which some people find indispensible to run under Linux? It certainly couldn't as difficult as the Wine project is because we're dealing with "genetically" related OSes as opposed to a completely "foreign" kernel like the nt kernel as compared to the linux kernel.

Just a thought, something to get people thinking and maybe start something. Wish I could, just don't have the time to study programming more.

ericesque
April 30th, 2007, 07:28 AM
just for curiosity's sake, which Mac app are you looking to run?

I've not heard of any OSX emulation. But then again, think of how useful something like that could possibly be... Mac has...what, 10 different apps it can run? And then there's probably about 100 people that use a Mac.

I think the verdict is that it's either quicker to port each individual app, or just shoot all the mac users.

Kujen
April 30th, 2007, 07:44 AM
just for curiosity's sake, which Mac app are you looking to run?