PDA

View Full Version : If Linux worked with my phone and TVU....

Johnsie
April 25th, 2007, 11:03 PM
If Linux worked with my phone and TVU i'd prolly use it more often. I really wish Linux had better compatibility with Windows drivers and software. Yeah, i could buy a Linux friendly phone, but that would restrict my choice of phones and I really like my phone. It's an O2 Ice and I cannot access/sync my files with linux :-(

ssodhi
April 26th, 2007, 07:32 AM
The Linux community, Ubuntu included, has a deep seated resentment of proprietary and closed-source, essentialy non-libre, code. This ranges from multimedia codecs to, as you say, device drivers.

I'm no hardware expert, so correct me if I'm wrong (which I very well might be), but cellphones largely vary in what hardware setups that they have, and the essential system on the inside. Thus, most cellphones will require rather advanced drivers. Writing drivers for something like a cellphone is a world away from writing drivers for something more orthodox, such as a mouse. It would take a very good programmer to be able to write a driver flexible enough to meet the needs of even a relatively minor range of cellphones and PDAs out there.

Let's be realistic; why should the developer write device drivers for a phone that only ten people have? The cellphones comptability issue just is not a priority. Those developers that do have the capacity and time to write your drivers are likely already working on projects that are more important to the Open Source Movement, or are on the payroll of varying corporate entities that place a myriad of restrictions on what information can and can't get out. If a coder who works at O2 writes your drivers, chances are he won't be allowed to release them, or that they will not be Open Sourced, which brings us back to the start.