PDA

View Full Version : What's your favorite music player?- Super Thread

Pages : [1] 2 3

garnertr
October 30th, 2005, 10:36 PM
Greetings,

Just got off duty this morning and I thought, hey what is everyone's favorite music player? I'm still a newbie and I just found one program that I enjoy, easy setup and easy to use...

ZINF - http://www.zinf.org/

What is your fav?

xequence
October 30th, 2005, 11:04 PM
I like ubuntus dafault, rythmbox ;) In KDE, amaroK is great.

raublekick
October 30th, 2005, 11:12 PM
i use xmms. i should start using a library based app, i guess.

matthewv
October 30th, 2005, 11:14 PM
I use amaroK, even in gnome. It sorts all my music files and looks great. The only complaint I have is that it can be a bit heavy on my meager system resources

erikpiper
October 30th, 2005, 11:21 PM
XMMS all the way! Nice and simple

Pathogenix
October 30th, 2005, 11:36 PM
I quite like Quod Libet, the only problem is that it takes anywhere up to half an hour to open on my networked laptop while it refreshes the library. I'm wondering why it isn't possible to just pickle the old library locally, but I can't be bothered to pick through the code :)

I used Amarok on the same laptop under Mandrake and found it unusably buggy. It would randomly decide to dump my entire library into the playlist, since that's around 15,000 tracks, the interface would just lock for the same half hour. Once it had finished playing the current track, it would skip to the first track in its new, huge playlist. I got sick and bloody tired of hearing the first track from !!!'s album.

I keep meaning to get Foobar 2000 working under Wine because, basically, it's the world's best music player. I forget how to set ALSA up though, and all my music is on an NTFS drive which might cause problems because Foobar does a lot of on-the-fly tag updating.

LHZ
October 31st, 2005, 12:07 AM
amaroK. It's worth installing the KDE libs for if you like all-in-one players.