PDA

View Full Version : Not upgrading to feisty.

bortizc
April 23rd, 2007, 09:39 PM
I have been using Ubuntu exclusively since breezy and faithfully updating from scratch as soon as each release has been made available. I have grown to understand ubuntu and linux a lot better through this process (when I starte I was a complete newbie). I just downloaded feisty and unfortunately my scanner (canoscan lide 20) doesn't work with Feisty. It used to work but it seems the new kernel has conflicts with it. This made me decide not to upgrade this time.

I tried the live cd. And found no substantial reason to upgrade. I, for one, prefer metacity to beryl or compiz (and anyway I can easily install either on edgy) so desktop effects don't lure me. The network manager seems to work better, but I have learned to work everything out in edgy, so that doesn't convince me. Since I am an artist, access to a scanner is crucial for my work. I have decided to wait for the next LTS, upgrade to that and keep it until it is out of support. In fact I'm considering an experiment: how long can I have this laptop with linux vs. any other OS.

Does anyone know when the next LTS release will be?
Is there any reason why updating to feisty is important?

tgm4883
April 23rd, 2007, 10:06 PM
It's not important at all, it's just a new release. Kinda like why Windows Vista is important, it's not. LTS releases are every 3 to 4 releases. Since Gutsy isn't a LTS, then Gutsy +1 will be (since neither edgy or feisty are LTS) and it should arrive in about 12 months.

smartalecks
April 23rd, 2007, 10:13 PM
thats fine, re configuring everything might be a hassle anyway if you upgrade. Feisty has some major SANE problems as well atm, so if your scanner is very important to you i'd stick with edgy.

karellen
April 23rd, 2007, 10:18 PM
edgy is just fine, it worked great for me since last year's autumn until last weekend :)

DerHesse
April 23rd, 2007, 11:07 PM